NORWALK, CT – Enjoy some holiday cheer as you help the Norwalk Historical Society celebrate the holiday season! Visit the Norwalk Historical Society’s Mill Hill Historic Park for a “Holiday Open House” on Sunday, December 11, 2022 from 1:00pm – 4:00pm. This event is free and open to the public. Walk-ins welcome.
View the new interactive exhibit, “Norwalk’s Changing Communities: 13,000BC – 1835,” tour the c.1740 Governor Fitch Law Office, and explore school life the c.1826 Downtown District one-room schoolhouse. Enjoy holiday decorations in the Governor Fitch Law Office. Holiday treats and hot cider will be served. Spread holiday kindness to those in need by bringing non-perishable food items to support the Norwalk non-profit, Open Doors. We will have a food donation box at the event.
Mill Hill Historic Park is located at 2 East Wall Street in Norwalk, CT. Handicapped and limited mobility parking on site. General parking is at the Family Center building on the corner of East Wall Street and Park Street. Follow blue parking signs.
Experience the Norwalk Historical Society’s new exhibition, “Norwalk’s Changing Communities 13,000 BC – 1835”, which was funded in part by grants from Connecticut Humanities and the City of Norwalk Historical Commission and curated by Elizabeth Pratt Fox. This comprehensive, interactive exhibition is family friendly with hands-on activities and games. Learn about the arrival of the first people of Norwalk, the Indigenous People, their contact with the Europeans and the development of Norwalk during the 17th and 18th centuries as well as during the dawn of the industrial age. Discover how community, work, and home changed over this period and how the people who lived in Norwalk adapted to those changes.
Step back in time and explore the Governor Fitch Law Office, renovated in 2018 under the joint supervision of the Norwalk Historical Commission and Norwalk Historical Society, and curated by Dr. Daryn Reyman-Lock. Moved to Mill Hill in 1971, the Fitch Law Office has been used as a key tool in teaching school children about Colonial life. All rooms including the Governor’s office room, the clerk’s garret bedroom, the kitchen and storage cellar have been reinterpreted to give a more accurate representation of life in the late 1700s.
Explore school life in the c.1826 Downtown District one-room schoolhouse. View the exhibit, “One Room Schoolhouses: A History of Education in Norwalk 1650-1870,” in the 1826 Downtown District Schoolhouse onsite at Mill Hill. The exhibit, curated by Dr. Daryn Reyman-Lock with graphic design by Scott Kuykendall, highlights the early history of education in Norwalk using old photographs, original documents and period textbooks.
For more information on this event and the Norwalk Historical Society visit www.norwalkhistoricalsociety.org, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org , or call 203-846-0525. The Norwalk Historical Society is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.